Sustainable Emerald Coast Logo

Updated: January 26, 2010


The Sustainable Emerald Coast Advisory Committee was born out of the previous work of the Committee for a Sustainable Emerald Coast (CSEC). 

Following the accelerated development of northwest Florida over the last ten years and projected increases in population for the years to come, former Senator Charlie Clary encouraged the State to support an initiative to study long range planning issues of regional importance, seek public input, and provide recommendations to enable sustainable growth and development in the region.  Through its efforts, the Committee would seek to preserve the region's heritage and enhance the Emerald Coast's natural resources, economic prosperity and quality of life. 

In the Summer of 2006, Governor Jeb Bush appointed individuals representing business, government, conservation and education to serve as members of the Committee for a Sustainable Emerald Coast.  In August of 2006, Governor Bush convened this Committee to bring together public and private interests, concerns and communities in the four-county region consisting of Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa and Walton Counties to focus on planning for a the future of the region.

The Committee considered issues of long range planning that will help the region prepare for the next generation.  The primary issues of concern fell into the categories of:

  • Sustainable Growth and Development
  • Economic Diversity and Prosperity
  • Environmental Stewardship
  • Access to Education, Health Care and Culture
  • In December 2007, the final report was delivered to Governor Charlie Crist.  Seeking to continue the valuable work developed, the Department of Community Affairs supported the WFRPC as it established the Sustainable Emerald Coast Advisory Committee to oversee the implementation of the report's findings.

    Through the Advisory Committee's guidance and initiatives in Bay, Holmes and Washington Counties, the Planning Council looks to create a sustainable vision for the entire West Florida region. 

    Sustainable Emerald Coast Banner